The 2022 Summer Library Challenge is made possible by the support of the Friends of Hedberg Public Library.
Thank you!

9 a.m.-5 p.m.  
9 a.m.- 8 p.m.  

Uptown Janesville
2500 Milton Ave.
10 a.m.-4 p.m.



Join us for our first-ever celebration of books and authors.  
The event features an author fair with traditionally and Independently published WI authors, family storytime with author Michael Leannah, a publishing panel discussion and a closing address by Wisconsin Poet Laureate Dasha Kelly Hamilton. 

10 a.m. - Storytime with Michael Leannah

Enjoy an interactive family storytime with award-winning children's author Michael Leannah whose books include Most People, Most Days, and Goodnight Whispers. Book sales and signing will follow.


11:30 a.m. - Panel Discussion

Writing Out of the Box: Creative Outlets for Your Work

Join authors Michael Leannah, Tess Nguyen, Patricia Hall and Jim Lyke for a discussion about traditional and independent publishing, as well as other creative outlets, open to writers. Moderated by children's author and HPL staff member, Jamie A. Swenson, and HPL staff member Emilie Anderson.

2 p.m. - Dasha Kelly Hamilton

Wisconsin's first Black female Poet Laureate

Dasha is a writer, performance artist and creative change agent, applying the creative process to facilitate dialogues around human and social wellness. She is the author of two novels, three poetry collections, four spoken word albums, and one collection of personal vignettes. She has taught at colleges, conferences, and classrooms and curated fellowships for emerging leaders.

An Arts Envoy for the U.S. Embassy, Dasha has facilitated community building initiatives in Botswana, Toronto, Mauritius, and Beirut. Her touring production, Makin' Cake, uniquely engages communities in a forward dialogue on race, class, and equity. Dasha is a national Rubinger Fellow as well as Poet Laureate for the City of Milwaukee. 


10:30 a.m. - 4 p.m. Author Fair

Stroll through the library to visit with local authors. Grab an Author Passport and get 10 signatures to be entered into our Book Fest prize drawing!

Participating authors include:

Norman Aulabaugh // Marianne Ball-Dean // Robert Bottomley // Amber Boudreau // Tim Cullen //  Patricia A. Davis // Cheaneulle DeRosier // Sherry Derr-Wille // Laura Diehl // Lolita Ditzler // John Graf // Pat Hall //  Katie McIntyre // Carrie Meyer // Grace Pakes // Greg Peck // Jerry Peterson Candice Rasco // Laureanna Raymond-Duvernell // Mary Tellefson // Patrick Tibbits // John David Ulferts

© Hedberg Public Library. All rights reserved.
316 South Main Street Janesville, WI 53545 | (608) 758-6600